First Sewing Project Done!

I am well on my way to achieving my goals for the month of January, and I couldn’t be more proud of myself. To start things off, I would like to share pictures of my first actual sewing project (the scarves I made before don’t count as real projects).

The Pattern from Sew Everything Workshop by Diana Rupp

I was to make a hand tote bag with a contrasting lining color.

I went with this great pattern in brown and aqua. Amazingly, I found an exact match to the aqua for the lining! I had very little time in the fabric store, since it was during my lunch break, but I love it.

The finished product!

I made a slight adjustment with the handles. That pattern called for one strip to be placed along one side, but I looped them over, which I like better (makes the handles a little longer and easier for me to carry). I did pretty well considering I don’t have a real ruler and my cuts weren’t that straight, but I think I did a pretty good job. And I bought twice the fabric in case I messed up, so I have enough to make another one and mix it up.

I had to buy quite a few supplies to stock up my sewing basket, but when all is said and done, this project cost me about $5 for the fabric and thread. And James told me it looks like it came from a store! I am either getting better the more I do it, or he is just a super sweet husband.

….

My other goals are coming along nicely. I have exercised twice so far this week (not that fantastic, but I still have 3 more days left!). This is my second post this week, reaching one of my goals completely. I finished Star Wars: Deceived a couple days ago. Truth be told, I am not sure how much I should count it toward my January goal, since I technically read most of in in December, but it is a good starting point. So, one out of five books down, and I am reading four more currently.

I picked up Brave New World since I already have it on my Kindle, and I am about 15% through it already. It is very different, but it is keeping my interest so far. I haven’t had much time to listen to Chime, but I know I am nearing the end. I am loving The Golden Compass, and I am sad that I only have about 2 more CDs until it is finished. Wresting the Hulk is just ridiculous. I am hoping to start making some good notes about the recent books I read and have some reviews incoming within a couple of weeks. I have a long backlog of books to talk about, which is making me a little flustered about where to start.

To top things off, I got a promotion yesterday at work. I am not sure if it comes with a raise (that is usually what the word promotion means, yet who knows), but it definitely comes with more writing and more interesting things to do, so I am excited. So far 2012 is off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

