Felt Poinsettias

I am making a Christmas yarn wreath for my mother-in law. Since I don’t think I am that great at crafts (decent, but not great), I have been buying the plastic/silk flowers from the craft store. It was really easy to glue decorations on the wreath when they were thin leaves or flat bottomed sunflowers, but all the winter decorations are too large! I am using a buttery cream colored yarn for the wreath, so I wanted a red flower. The most likely choice is the poinsettia, but the silk versions were either too tall, poor quality, or full of glitter. I did some research and found this awesome example of a poinsettia pin. I followed her instructions (without the pin bar), but for some reason, I found myself struggling to get it started. Her instructions were clear, and with pictures, but as someone who doesn’t do felt projects often, I was lost. So, I decided to chronicle my creation and write out the step by step guide on my own.

I got the following items (some of which I already owned):

  • 1 piece of felt cloth, red, per flower ($0.29 at the craft store)
  • Sharp scissors (I used my sewing ones, hopefully they don’t dull on felt!)
  • Mini hot glue gun ($3.99 at the craft store)
  • Mini glue gun sticks ($3.99 at the craft store)
  • Pearl beads, 8mm, one per flower ($2 for a giant bag)
  • Ruler and pen

I began by folding the felt piece lengthwise. Believe it or not, this is where I got lost. How could I not remember which way was lengthwise? Don’t suffer like I did!IMG_0702

I took my ruler and marked off strips for each size petal I would be making. I made my marks on the long side and in pen Don’t worry, you’ll be cutting off that tiny mark.

  • Two 2 inch wide strips (large)
  • Two 1.5 inch wide strips (medium)
  • One 1 inch wide strip (small)

IMG_0703

I then cut the strips. I didn’t worry too much about crooked lines or evenness, since these will be turned into shapely petals.

IMG_0704

For each strip, I marked again along the long edge. This was to measure for each individual petal. All of these can be approximate. No need for deathly precision.

  • Large: 1 inch rectangles
  • Medium: .75 inch rectangles
  • Small: .5 inch rectangles

IMG_0705

I cut out each rectangle in preparation for petal making. I ended up getting around 8 per strip on the large one, 10 on the medium, and 16 on the small. I saved the edges that were too small. These would serve as my bases.

IMG_0706

I started with the biggest rectangle and free cut a petal shape. I was surprised at how well my first one turned out. I then used it as the template to cut the rest, two at a time. The smaller rectangles were harder to shape, and I am sure there are some non-professional looking ones, but not all flowers are symmetric, right? Right?!

IMG_0707

You can cut all the petals, but you only need the following to make one flower:

  • Twelve 2 x 1″ petals (large)
  • Twelve 1.5 x .75″ petals (medium)
  • Six 1 x .5″ petals (small)

I took a small square that was leftover from my measuring and used it as a base to glue six of the large petals. I left a small circular hole in the center, mostly for spacing, but also for the pearl. The last six large petals are glued on top of those, in the creases. This is followed by six medium, six medium, and six small, making sure to cover the creases. There may be some overlap depending on the size you cut the flowers. Here is a picture of the original six large petals and where I placed the first of the second set.

IMG_0708

After gluing all my petals, I placed a dollop of glue into the center and inserted my pearl bead. Here is the finished product!

IMG_0710

These flowers are about 4-5″ large (I didn’t measure before I started writing this). I am thinking I will need at least three of these for the wreath, but I am not sure what other decorations I will be adding. As a side note, my second one did not seem as cute as this one. What do you think?

One thought on “Felt Poinsettias

Leave a Reply

