Fall Harvest Yarn Wreath

Some projects I often only take a finished shot, kind of giving myself a pat on the back. But, I’d still like to share my creations, even if they don’t involve step-by-step instructions on how to create it. This is one of those instances.

Last year, I fell in love with a bundle of yarn. ItĀ inspired me, so I purchased it, but I had no idea what to make. The colors reminded me of fall, transitioning between hues of red, brown, green, purple, orange, and yellow. I attempted to crochet something, but the yarn was silky and feathered a lot, so I scrapped that idea.

I hadn’t made a yarn wreath in a while, so I went with that despite already having a fall wreath that I display on my door. I bought a smaller hay wreath, probably around 12 inches and wrapped it, using hot glue to secure the ends. Then the wreath sat in my craft area for months, as I was still unsure what to do with it.

When my parents came to visit from Iowa, I asked my mom for help. She had been reteaching me to crochet properly, so when we went to pick up an additional skein of yarn for that, I wanted to find some decorations to accessorize this wreath. We stuck with the fall theme and found some pretty great ornamentals to make it different from my other fall wreath. Definitely more muted. She finished it off with a fancy wire ribbon bow that I could not replicate if asked.

I took a couple finished pictures, both in equally bad but different lighting. I could take a better one the next time it comes out of storage, but these will have to do for now.

20150912_160801-edit20150912_160820-edit

Leave a Reply

