Sock Matching Felt Page

Back when I was ambitious on creating activities for my son and really interested in embroidery, I read a lot about Quiet Books. The idea sounded wonderful: take felt to create pages of learning activities that would keep your child busy when you needed them to be quiet. The problem I found was that most of the pages took a lot more effort to make than the child would put into playing it. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy making them, but for my son, the novelty quickly wore off.

For my first foray into making a Quiet Book page, I chose a sock matching game. There were several cute ideas on Pinterest, spanning from a few different socks to a whole washing machine layout. The attachments also varied from buttons to velcro. I decided to combine a couple of these into my own simple design. I wanted many different styles of patterns and a place to store the socks before they were sorted. My son was also too young to use buttons at the time, but I wanted a challenge, so I went with a snap attachment.

I made seven different sock pairings and a hamper to store them in. These were the materials I used:

  • Paper and marker for design
  • Felt in various colors/designs for the socks. They are not large┬áso you can use scraps, as long as you can get two to three cutouts for each matching pattern.
  • Felt, white, for the hamper.
  • Felt, full sheet for background (I chose gray)
  • Matching thread
  • Snap closures
  • Embroidery or sewing needle
  • Scissors

I hand drew the sock design on paper and used that as a cutout for my felt. You can easily find a clipart or other design online, similar to what I did for the hamper. I cut 3 socks in each pattern, one of them a mirror image.

sock-cutouts-tagged

 

After cutting out all of your felt pieces, it’s simply a matter of sewing. I call it sewing, but it does not need to be fancy stitchwork. Sew the snap with the bump onto the socks that will be sewn onto the background. I cut a small hole so I could have it poke through the back for a clean look. After sewing the other half of the snap onto a second sock, I placed a third on the back to hide the snap. This ensured that my son could see the pattern on the sock no matter which side he looked at.

sock-matches-tagged

 

Line up all your pieces before sewing them onto the background to ensure a nice, even fit. Make sure to account for space if you will be attaching this page into a full Quiet Book. It doesn’t need to be perfect. Your child will love it with missteps and all.

socks-on-background-tagged

 

Tada! Now save it for a day when you need to keep your child entertained, like a doctor’s office or a long car ride. My son loved it. I would recommend limiting the amount of time they use it and pulling it back out after they haven’t played with it in a while. That keeps the entertainment factor going longer.

finished-socks-tagged

Leave a Reply

